Sam Northeast: England batsman created a storm on the field, broke Brian Lara’s record of 400 runs!

Leicester: Scoring a triple century in first class cricket is a big achievement. The score of 400 has been made by the batsmen only on a few occasions. One such feat has happened in England’s county cricket. Glamorgan’s batsman Sam Northeast has played an unbeaten innings of 410 runs against Leicestershire. He is the fourth batsman to do so in county cricket. Before him, only Brian Lara, AC McLaren and Graeme Hick could score more than 400 runs in an innings.

400 score after 18 years
After 18 years in first class cricket, a score of 400 has been made. Earlier in 2004, Brian Lara had scored 400 runs against England. Sam Northeast completed his 400 runs in 447 balls. He played an unbeaten innings of 410 runs in 450 balls. There were 45 fours and 3 sixes in this innings. Glamorgan declared their innings at 795 runs for 5 wickets. NorthEast made an unbeaten partnership of 461 runs with Chris Cook (191*).

biggest innings of this century
This is also the biggest innings in first class cricket of this century. He has broken Brian Lara’s record of 400 runs. Apart from Lara, no batsman has scored 400 in this century. The 31-year-old NorthEast, who made his first-class debut in 2007, has played 192 matches so far. In which he has 11966 runs to his name. His bat has scored 27 centuries and 61 half-centuries. His biggest innings before this match was only 191 runs.

11th time scored 400+ score
For the 11th time in first class cricket, a batsman has scored a score of 400+. Australia’s Will Ponsford and West Indies’ Brian Lara have twice scored more than 400 runs. So far only one Indian batsman has scored more than 400 runs. In 1948, Bhausaheb Nimbalkari of Maharashtra scored an unbeaten 443 in the Ranji Trophy against Kathiawad. Brian Lara holds the record for playing the most innings of 501 runs. He played this innings for Warwickshire against Durham in 1994.

Batsmen who have scored 400 or more in an innings:

batsman Score year
Brian Lara 501* 1994
hanif mohammed 499 1959
Sir Don Bradman 452* 1930
Bhausaheb Nimbalkari 443* 1948
Will Ponsford 437 1927
Will Ponsford 429 1923
Aftab Baloch 428 1974
AC McLaren 424 1885
Sam Northeast 410* 2022
graeme hick 405* 1988
Brian Lara 400* 2004

Source link