Asia Cup: Indian team announced for Asia Cup, KL Rahul and Virat Kohli return

New Delhi: The Indian team for the Cricket Asia Cup has been announced. A 15-member team has been selected under the captaincy of Rohit Sharma. The tournament will begin in the UAE from August 27. The Indian team will play its first match against Pakistan (IND vs PAK) on August 28. A total of 6 teams will participate in the tournament. Team India has been placed in Group A. Apart from India, there will be Pakistan and a qualifier team. On the other hand, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan and Bangladesh are in Group B. This time the tournament will be played in T20 format.

Kohli and Rahul return
Former captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain KL Rahul have returned to the team. Rahul played the last match for India in February. After that he made a comeback in the IPL. After this, he was running out first due to injury and then due to corona. At the same time, Virat Kohli, who was rested on the West Indies tour, has also made a comeback. Virat has been struggling with form for a long time.

Bumrah out due to injury

Fast bowler Jasprit Bumrah will miss the tournament due to injury. Harshal Patel is also running out due to injury. In the absence of these two, trust has been expressed in the young players. Arshdeep Singh and Avesh Khan, who have been part of the team in recent times, have been given a chance.

Indian team:
Rohit Sharma (capt), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (wk), Deepak Hooda, Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.

Backup Player: Shreyas Iyer, Axar Patel and Deepak Chahar.

asia cup schedule

asia cup schedule

Between India and Pakistan, 2 teams from Group A and Group B will advance to Super-4. There can also be a contest between India and Pakistan. The final of the tournament will be played on 11 September at the Dubai International Cricket Stadium. India won the trophy of the last Asia Cup held in 2018.

Source link